Weekend Spread for February 20, 2015


Greetings All!

Sorry to have missed last week. Things have been busy in my household and so like the Fool in the Two of Pentacles, I’ve been striving to keep many balls in the air. I’m off and running again this morning, so I am posting a photo of the spread today instead of using Ribbet to create the collage like I normally do. It’s not as effective,  but I think it will do in a pinch!

I am still investigating options for a new stone reading cloth and I think I have found one which I am most excited about! It hasn’t yet arrived and when it does it might require some practice before I post readings with it, but I have chosen a new symbol which holds more meaning for me than the yin yang. I think it will be exciting to work with!

February 20 2015 reading

Our reading today is a powerful one. In the top row, we see the Sun, the Ten of Discs, and the Eight of Discs. In the Center we have the Lovers, Initiation (in traditional decks this is Temperance), and on the bottom we have the Web. (In traditional decks this is Judgement.) What I love about this deck is it’s use of the Celtic symbolism which is close to my heart!

This reading is about initiation, the movement from one state of being to another state of being. This reading is much in tune with our yearly cycle, the leaving behind of the dark days when we face our own shadow selves and move into the light of understanding in the spring. Simply looking at the number of Major Arcana cards in this spread is an indicator of the importance of the transition that is happening right now.

I want to begin examining this spread with the Initiation card in the center row, this is the heart of the message. Here we see Cerridwen’s cauldron of inspiration and rebirth at the center of labyrinth. This symbolizes the search for our inner selves. We walk the labyrinth to gain insight and understanding and wisdom. The woodpecker is a celtic symbol of rebirth and it is shown emerging from the cauldron. The Sun on the top row symbolizes again this rebirth in that we now see a deeper understanding as the meaning of it “dawns” on us. Now, just what is it that we’ve been struggling to understand? The Ten of Discs represents stability and structure, the foundation of family and the building of legacy. It’s a representation of life’s work. The Eight of Discs represents skill, learning new skills and working hard to gain new skills, particularly later in life, a change in career. The Lovers represents life choices, the understanding that we have the power to make those choices and the Web at the bottom is a realization that these choices that we make effects the greater whole.

This is a reading for someone who has been wondering about their purpose in life. You’ve been in the depths of the cauldron, facing your demons, trying to make sense of it all, and you’ve had an epiphany! You now have a greater understanding of your own purpose than you had before, and there is this sense of release, and renewed purpose, and understanding of life’s pattern and how your own thread contributes to that pattern. You now have a much better realization and understanding of how your life intertwines with others, and how your choices influence the greater whole, and now you want to learn new skills so that you can fulfill this purpose in a different way.

Not only are you inspired, but you have a new sense of purpose and peace. Blessings to you!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s